Charleston Southern University / About Us / University Milestones

CSU Milestones


1955    Official deliberation held at the South Carolina Baptist Convention General Board regarding the establishment of a college in the Lowcountry

1964    Trustees elected by the SCBC

1964    Dr. John A. Hamrick elected first president of the Baptist College at Charleston

1965    First semester held in the fall

1966    Buildings on campus ready to receive students

1969    Founding class graduated

1971     School gained full accreditation

1984    Dr. Jairy C. Hunter, Jr. elected second president of the Baptist College at Charleston

1986    Graduate studies program in Education became accredited

1988    Graduate studies program in Education expanded to include elementary and secondary education

1990    The School of Business began to offer a Master of Business Administration

1991     University achieved university status

1991    Baptist College at Charleston renamed Charleston Southern University

1993    School of Education began offering Master of Education in Educational Administration

1999    Master of Science in Criminal Justice added as a graduate offering

2004   CSU celebrates its 40th Anniversary

2005    Science Building Officially Opened

2006   Library renovated and Java City Coffeeshop added

2007    Wyndham by Wingate Inn opens

2009   Jairy & Sissy Hunter celebrate their 25th Anniversary as President and First Lady

2010    Dr. Hunter awarded the Order of the Palmetto

2012    New Athletic Center opens

2013     Whitfield Center for Christian Leadership opens and Nursing Building expansion opens

2014     Chick-fil-A Express opens and Hunter Reception Center expanded and renamed the Jairy C. and Carolyn K. Hunter Center, in recognition of Dr. and Mrs. Hunter's 30 years of service to CSU