Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Pinterest Feed
Charleston Southern University / Charleston Southern University News / CSU students, faculty, staff honored at Awards Day

CSU students, faculty, staff honored at Awards Day

by: University Relations

Awards DayStudents, faculty and staff were honored at Charleston Southern’s 48th Annual Academic and Student Life Awards ceremony April 17 in Lightsey Chapel.

Jordan K. Stauffer, of Charleston, captured three academic awards as the top honors program, history and theatre student. Stauffer, a senior, will graduate with majors in history with a European history emphasis and communication with a theatre emphasis.

Dr. Jacqueline T. Fish, vice president for academic affairs, presided over the program and said, “Our most sincere congratulations to each CSU student honored here in the Academic and Student Life Awards ceremony. You have been selected by the CSU faculty and your peers for excellence in the areas of scholarship and service, and we are so very proud of your accomplishments.”

Academic Awards:

  • Kara Butler - Art and Graphic Design Awards
  • Nicole Ellerbe - Psychology Award
  • Rebecca A. Jones - Sociology Award
  • Amanda R. D’Ostroph - Biology Award
  • Abigail K. Jernigan - Bridge Program Award
  • Ashley E. Johnston – Accounting Award
  • Thomas J. Christensen – Economics Award
  • Patrick G. Breen – Financial Management Award
  • Daniel R. White – Management Award
  • Keri E. Huff – Marketing Award
  • Nolan Diestro – Servant Leadership Award
  • Russell S. Deal – Master of Business Administration Award
  • Joseph M. Glendening – Chemistry Award
  • Victoria L. Jilote – College of Adult and Professional Studies Student of the Year Award
  • Ashley C. Carman – Communication Award
  • Michael Havens – BS Computer Science Award
  • Donald A. Crowe – BT Information Systems
  • Ariel R. Spires – Criminal Justice Award
  • Ashleigh M. Dockery – MS Criminal Justice Award
  • Hilary G. Griffin – Early Childhood Education Award
  • Abby L. Ging – Elementary Education Award
  • Eric J. Hatcher – Secondary Education Award
  • Christopher P. Snider – English Award
  • Nikki L. Newsome – French Award
  • Jordan K. Stauffer – Honors, History and Theater Awards
  • Robert H. Smeltzer – Political Science Award
  • Michelle E. Priester – Daughters of the American Revolution Award
  • Rebekah L. O’Dell – Athletic Training Award
  • Sarah R. King – Kinesiology Award
  • Erin E. Bailey – Physical Education Award
  • Brittany L. Siciliano – Mathematics Award
  • Anna S. Wheeler – Music Award
  • Jeannette R. Deegan – Music Therapy Award
  • Leanne M. Thompson – Nursing Award
  • Emily M. Kaufman – Health Promotion Award
  • Lydia B. Lankford – Religion Award
  • Stephen D. Wilson – Youth Ministry Award
  • Vanessa E. Jay – Spanish Award

Women’s Council Scholarship recipients:

  • Julia M. Dirks - The Mattie Leigh Francese Scholarship
  • Eva Porter - The Mattie Leigh Francese Scholarship & The Charlene B. Kirk Scholarship
  • Ingrid V. Bonilla - The Mattie Leigh Francese Scholarship
  • Amy J. Bremner - The Mattie Leigh Francese Scholarship & The Charlene B. Kirk Scholarship
  • Joshua M. Muccitelli - The Charlene B. Kirk Scholarship

Clubs and organizations were recognized for service and academic achievements.

Employees voted earlier in the month for the outstanding faculty and staff members of the year. Ed Speyers, assistant professor of graphic design, was named Faculty Member of the Year, and Wanda Housand, payroll and benefits manager, was named Staff Member of the Year.

Also recognized were employees with 10 or more years of service.

10 years of service:

  • Jeff Babetz
  • David Cross
  • John Duncan
  • John Kuykendall
  • Tim Langford
  • Tam Odom
  • Lindsey Walke
  • Hester Young

15 years of service:

  • Todd Ashby
  • Nick Cimorelli
  • Tina Hartley

20 years of service:

  • Valerie Bullock
  • Jan Mims
  • Joyce Rea
  • Maxwell Rollins
  • Debbie Williamson

25 years of service:

  • Julia Ard
  • Rick Brewer
  • David Naylor
  • Rex Nestor
  • Charles Smedley
  • Susan Styles  

Latest News

Embler Named Title IX Coordinator
07/21/16 - Dr. Marc Embler has been named Title IX Coordinator for Charleston Southern Univ... »

President Hunter honored with distinguished business officer award
07/18/16 - Charleston Southern University president Dr. Jairy C. Hunter Jr. has been recogn... »

CSU nursing master’s alums honored by Regional Medical Center
07/13/16 - Two graduates of Charleston Southern's master of science in nursing program were... »

CSU on Twitter

Stay Connected

*** Broken a:13536 www: Video New: Charleston Southern University ***