Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Pinterest Feed
Banner Image
Charleston Southern University / Charleston Southern University News / CSU Alumni among Teachers of the Year Winners

CSU Alumni among Teachers of the Year Winners

by: University Relations

Jessica RushinLocal school districts have recently released their 2012-2013 Teachers of the Year listings.

Charleston Southern University is proud of our School of Education graduates who have been recognized as excellent teachers. Listed below are CSU alumni who have been recognized as 2012-2013 Teachers of the Year.

Alixandra Little, a 2010 early childhood education graduate, was named teacher of the year at Goose Creek Primary. “I could not have received this award without all of the education and support that I received while I was at Charleston Southern,” said Little. “The School of Education truly impacted my life, and because of you, I am able to go and impact the next generation.”

In a recent interview with CSU Magazine, Jessica Rushin ’06, ’11, teacher of the year at Flowertown Elementary, spoke to the strength of the Charleston Southern School of Education. “The classes offered in the program are very relevant to everyday teaching,” said Rushin. “I would often leave [graduate] classes with new ideas to try in my classroom.”

Charleston County Teacher of the Year Finalists

  • Paul Pallagi (Ladson Elementary) BS, elementary education ’09; MEd, elementary admin/supervision, graduating May ’13
  • Melissa Yarbrough (St. Andrews School of Math and Science) MEd, elementary admin/supervision ’07

Dorchester County District 2 Teachers of the Year

  • Charles “Peco” Sanders (Eagle Nest Elementary) BS, elementary education ’04
  • Jessica Rushin (Flowertown Elementary) BS, elementary/early child education ’06; MEd, elementary education ’11
  • Jessica Nealious (Fort Dorchester Elementary) BS, elementary education ’07
  • Jennifer Battaglieri (Fort Dorchester High), MEd, secondary admin/supervision, graduating May ’13
  • Deborah Malinoski (Summerville Elementary) MEd, elementary education ’01

Berkeley County Teachers of the Year

  • Elizabeth Partin (Berkeley Intermediate) BS, elementary education ’06
  • Denise Rush (Cainhoy Elementary/Middle) BS, PE, secondary education ’95
  • Kimberly Rogers (College Park Elementary) BS, elementary education ’01, MEd, elementary education ’05
  • Alixandra Little (Goose Creek Primary) BS, early childhood education ’10
  • Erin Jenkins (Marrington Elementary) current MEd student, elementary education
  • Robin R. McClellan (Westview Primary) BS, elementary education ’93
  • Mary Hannah Studemeyer (Cane Bay High) MEd, secondary admin/supervision ’12
  • Melissa Barr (Cross High) BS, business ’95, MEd, secondary admin/supervision ’06
  • Karin Roberts (Hanahan High) current MEd student, secondary admin/supervision
  • Meg Ward (Stratford High) BS, elementary education ’05

Latest News

Embler Named Title IX Coordinator
07/21/16 - Dr. Marc Embler has been named Title IX Coordinator for Charleston Southern Univ... »

President Hunter honored with distinguished business officer award
07/18/16 - Charleston Southern University president Dr. Jairy C. Hunter Jr. has been recogn... »

CSU nursing master’s alums honored by Regional Medical Center
07/13/16 - Two graduates of Charleston Southern's master of science in nursing program were... »

CSU on Twitter

Stay Connected

*** Broken a:13536 www: Video New: Charleston Southern University ***